I’m not very good at persisting. I’m the kind of girl who has to unpick the beginning of a pattern more than four times and I’ll just find another pattern – I wont bother contacting the author or company to ask for clarification. I’ve not got the patience. So when my lovely other half bought me a Lumix and it didn’t click straight away (no pun intended) I just left it on auto and snapped away. Until I started looking at everyone else’s blogs and discovered that snapping on auto or with my iPhone with no thought to lighting, composition or even proper focus was probably going to mean no one would bother with my blog. And while I’m mostly doing this for me, it would be lovely if I could meet other crocheters through this blog and find some people to do crochet alongs with and swaps with. So I googled and youtubed and here are the results. All of these are taken on a Lumix Gf2. It’s a micro four thirds camera which means that it has interchangeable lenses but will fit in a (largish) handbag. It also means there are not as many settings to get confused by as there would be on a full blown huge heavy thing. Which I did borrow and try using but the weight really put me off. Anyway, some pictures. shawl detail

This is the detail of a the 8 hour shawl which I rustled up from one skein of King Cole Riot DK in Funky in 4 hours last night. The dk is different from the chunky version of this in that it’s slightly kinked, which I think you can see in this picture. It’s crocheted on a 4.5mm hook – anything larger than this and in my opinion this wool does not look good. The stitches need to be closer to lend more contrast and make the most of the variegation. Another view:

Main view of the shawl

I think this shot shows the colour phasing really well. And hopefully the increasing neatness of my stitching!

Pile of hexagons

These are my endless hexagons. I say endless because I’ve only been working on them since Friday (3 days) and I’ve done 40 of them and it does feel endless. They’re going to become a blanket for my not quite yet mother in law whose birthday it is on Thursday. The centre colours are based around the colours of her bedroom – Lavender. I took a lot of shots of these – the colour contrast between the centres and the greys led to some fabulous contrasts.

Zoomed in detail of hezagon

The hexagon pattern is from Lucy and Attic24. She’s written an utterly fantastic breakdown of how to do them. Finally, I snapped something I made a while ago – a bouquet made entirely from paper.

Origami bouquet made from paper

I’ve learned an awful lot today. ISO’s, f stops, holding cameras steady, how close you can get to something when zoomed right in and still be able to press the button, and a massive amount about post processing. I’m assuming everyone else who reads this will know more than me regarding blog photography but if you don’t and you would like some pointers, give me a shout and I’ll share where I’ve been today.

Happy crocheting!

Louise

Comment on this post